Creative Writing: Banished Girl

(Ok, some backstory. This story follows the little fanfic idea way back I had about this OC similar to the Doctor who travels through fictional and non-fictional worlds to protect the heroes of that story. You just need to know that “Sora” was banished from her homeworld because she used forbidden time travel magic to save her homeworld and it made it so that she could no longer step onto her home world unless she wanted to get send to an early grave and her sacrifices to be for nothing. So, she decided to be like the Doctor and travel worlds. Menji is her friend from her homeworld who for some reason is able to travel with her occasionally. Anyway, more shall be revealed! Just enjoy this snippet.)

img_2855-1

“I’ve decided!” with a cheery smile, the brunette twirl in step and turned to her companion. “We are going to help them in this world!”

However, by contrast it was clear her companion was not as celebratory. “Are we?”

“Yup!” She beamed.

“….Are you certain you’re not just playing with them, Sora?” Menji asked, stopping in step and watched carefully as the cheerful expression dropped from her friend’s face replaced by one with no emotion whatsoever. The sudden shift from joy to a chilling neutral was alarming to say the least, and if she hadn’t known Sora so long, Menji would admit to being completely whiplashed by the change.

“And what,” a glint appeared in Sora’s piercing blue eyes which Menji did not see as her voice grew cold. Since the time traveler did not face her friend, choosing instead to look ahead at the sky. “Do you mean by that?”

Menji refused to let Sora’s warning tones bother her. Even as a chill began to crawl up her spine. “You know exactly what I mean Sora, what made you decide to help this version of Merlin BBC? What makes this universe so special compare to the last one where you let events play out as is?” Where you let them die?

“They were expendable.”

“Expendable?!” Menji gaped. “They were people too Sora, and you know it!” The writer reached out before hesitating. Letting her hand stay in the air she asked with a whisper, dreading the answer. “Answer me this: How long have you been traveling without me, or anyone?”

Sora turned around and Menji flinched at the hollow gaze that locked onto hers. “Too long, long enough to hate. Long enough to despise. Long enough to watch the blood of friends and family alike drip between my fingers without remorse. Without realizing I should be FEELING.” She stopped, then smiled.

Menji felt like choking, that smile. It’s wasn’t one that anyone could put on, it was a smile that reflected the depths of agony and despair. The reflection of someone who had become apathetic to everything in order to survive.

Someone who no longer cared.

Tell me, Menji-chan…” Sora continued wearing that terrible smile. “Do you think I’m a monster? Since I am, you know. And you might want to be careful, as a monster. I can’t promise I won’t kill you.”

Menji swallowed at the threat, as polite as it was given, it was still that. A threat. But… “You’ll regret it.”

The time traveler’s expression froze for a split second then she looked away. “I hate that you know me so well.”

“Do I?” the writer also looked away, unable to keep her face blank from the emotions swirling inside her. “I don’t think I do. Even after all these years there’s a lot I don’t know about you. I’m pretty hopeless, all I can do is watch you and be there. That’s all I really can do. Writing down your story, till the end.”

Sora blinked hard and maybe it was Menji’s imagination but she swear she could see tears at the edge of the dimensional traveler’s blue eyes before it returned to a stoic expression.

“Think what you will,” she flicked her hand and a portal opened up. A gaping maw that greedy swallowed anyone who was foolish enough or desperate enough to enter its endless abyss. Sora turned to gaze back with a hard expression, unapologetic. “Are you coming?”

Menji nodded. “Of course.”

The traveler faced the portal, “Then let’s go.”

To be continued… 

Leave a comment