Monologue: Think You’re Right

(written as if the protagonist is facing their archenemy or rival who questions or taunts them about whether they really understand that there is no point to anything when all we do is dance to the tune of time and fate. This is their answer) 

You know, you’re right. Sometimes I do wonder what is the point in everything. 

When the bad memories and the doubts fill my mind, I wonder why am I even here. What’s the point? Even if I win I have to go back to my normal life and then when the world needs us – my friends and I – again, it can be selfish and take us. We don’t get a choice in the matter. Sometimes it feels like we’re just tools! 

But then I remember, the good, the bad, and the memories that are in-between and I realize that…they’re a part of my precious memory. Yes, it’s true that I have to face each day either as someone else or in a mask in order to be me. But if it’s to protect everyone? I’ll do it, since it isn’t “if no one does it then who will” or “because I can” but that I have the power and I want to save them! I’ll do my best and if I fail I know there will be someone who will be supported by what I’ve done today. Even if I can’t see it.

So stop telling me to give up! I’ll show you, that this is my resolve. 

– Sora 

Leave a comment